Bash my plugins lol... and this song

$1000 for 3 plugins is enough to even make me think twice on buying them. I’ve spend many times that on plugins, but never for only 3 of them. I started playing around with the combination of the Kush Clariphonic, Empirical Labs Distressor (Arouser), and the LiquidSonics Seventh Heaven. My ears love them, but my wallet doesn’t :frowning: You can buy waves plugins for $30-40 on sale. You can buy an amazing Valhalla reverb for $50. Or you can buy 10 UAD plugins for that same $1000.

A while ago, took an old track that was sitting around and used only CLA Waves stuff to do the heavy lifting.

Here’s the track I posted on the other thread with the limiter removed.

With Only CLA plugs… (There are 2 more at the bottom of this thread)

So here’s what I changed today:

First I removed the CLA plugs.

I threw the Distressor on the Djembe drums and I really like what it did. I’ve spent hours today demoing the distressor against all kinds of 1176’s, the Pro-C, the Tubetech CL1B, Klanghelm, and a lot of other stuff that creates warmth through smashing and grinding yet stays clear. I can’t say the Distressor is better, but I can say I can’t get anything else do to what it does. It really really really excels at everything. Its great for drawing out long ringy sustainy kick and tom hits, but you have more control than with an 1176. But it can turn around and give a clear open transparent shimmer to a voice or a group of background vocals. So it can be as powerful as the 1176, as clear as an API 2500, as smooth as a Fairchild (well not really, I should say smooth LIKE a Fairchild), but more flexible than all 3. And the variable side chain filter on the plugin in amazing. As you all know, the one on the hardware version is fixed at 5k.

I used the Kush Clariphonic on a choir and piano bus Monday, and it was lovely. Today I dumped it on this Ukulele and I like what it did. The chain there is

Ukelele: