What has been your biggest challenge with the mix contest mix?

What has been (or was for those that finished) your biggest challenge with this mixing for this contest? What are you using to work around it?

1 Like

Personally, I had to fly out of country and wanted to get this mix finished in quick time. I gave myself about 24 hrs to complete the project, which most of that was spent asleep admittedly. I wanted to experiement with just how much fatigue and general glossing over I could experience given a crunch like that. I have taken each of the (I’m truly humbled by the amount of great and helpful constructive) criticisms and made a lessons learned list for future mixes, time-crunched and otherwise strained.

1 Like

Also, I can finally access the website at work, whee!!!

1 Like

The multitrack drums. I’m pretty new to mixing multitrack drums, so it was hard for me to find the right mic balances for the whole drum set.

1 Like

Convincing people that muddier indie songs have made it big.

3 Likes

well played :thumbsup:

Well, this one is good practice for you then. To their credit, the band did a pretty good job of tracking these drums, so this will be a good learning experience! Did you feel like it’s coming together?

First of all time, I wanted to take my time, but all of a sudden work got it the way, so I had to finish and upload, cause I wouldn’t have time to do any more work on this song till the deadline. Not saying that my mix would be much better if i had more time, hahahahaha. Now in the actual mix, my biggest problem was the cymbal bleeding in the snare track, it drove me crazy. Cause I don’t like to have the hi hat in the center, but when I panned it left at first, you could still hear it from the snare channel at the center, so I had to do some surgery to tame that.

1 Like