Please help me figure this out!

I have very little experience recording and mixing songs, but I do it with my band as a hobby. Can you guys pick this apart and try to give me some pointers on how to make the mix sound better? It feels like it’s lacking, but I can’t figure out where. I have tried adjusting things, but I don’t feel like I am making any progress.

Is the tone of the rhythm guitar that comes in at the start crap? Are there some frequencies that I should shave off of the entire mix?

Thanks!

2 Likes

I kinda dig the rawness of this mix. Reminds me of something off Nirvana’s Bleach album, sonically, not musically. Sounds like the guitar that starts it off could use a more intense high-pass filter, and maybe a boost in the midrange magic. The drums sound like they’re over compressed, particularly the cymbals which sound warbly. If you don’t have much experience the best advice I could give you would be to use the “less is more” philosophy, and just try a bunch of settings and see what sticks. I will say the rhythm guitar down the middle sounds like it’s clogging up the vocals and drums, I’d pan it left since you got another guitar in the right.

2 Likes

I’ll have to check it out on my monitors,but on my initial listen, it seems like the guitars have a bit too much hair on them. That’s just my own personal taste. Overall, it feels like some upper mids stacked up in the mix. Makes it a bit fatiguing, but I’ll check it on my monitors :slight_smile:
For being new to mixing, you’re off to a great start! Keep it going!!

1 Like

I kinda like it, makes it sound aggressive. Not sure if that was the intention, but I think it works. They are mixed a little too loud, but I think that could be remedied if it was panned to the left and brought down a hair.

2 Likes

I went with the less is more approach and got rid of some stuff. I did a bit of EQ and pan adjustments, got rid of some drum compression, and fixed the rhythm guitar a bit.

better or worse?

1 Like