Orchestral reprise of Planet of Beautiful People

I’m hoping to get some help with this. It’s part of Steban’s collaboration and it reprises his song here:

http://indierecordingdepot.com/t/planet-of-beautiful-people/1636

This is done with the East West audio library which I’m still fairly new to so please bash at will

The arrangement sounds fine to me.

It’s a little hard to tell without context. There are definitely some parts where the fakeness really shines, but when it’s set as BG, it might not be a big deal. The fast parts very much give it away. Fast runs on strings are hard to do right without a sample library that is really set up to be able to handle them well, and I don’t think this one is.

Also, I’d really like to hear more room sound. It sounds like you are using only the close mics, which makes everything feel disjointed. But again, that might be the right sound for it when it’s set as background music, but on it’s own

1 Like

@bozmillar thanks for listening. The EW Hollywood Gold series has only “mid” miking but it does offer different articulations. You can have sus, legato, detache, and staccato plus some effects. The string runs are either arpeggios or scales and the most prominent scale run is at 0:46. and the articulation there is staccato round robin, I thought the legato articulation sounded blurry but perhaps it would be better?

The only effects are EW Spaces reverb on a buss and Proximity plugin on some channels (not the strings) in order to give a distance effect from the sound source, sort of like a more complex pre-delay. I set the reverb a bit low but I can easily crank it up a some.

I don’t know if Steban will do any voice over on this, he may.