Basic Videography tips for YouTube & other general use

In the light of recent questions and interest, I wanted to share some of my Videography / Cinematography experience. I am not an expert in it and most of what I have learned is from example and experience. My dad is an excellent professional photographer (retired) so I picked up tips along the way. Though I did take basic film making course and put it to use .

Going to cut right to it, there are only 4 main things involved in Photography/ Film making in general. A good video camera will allow you to control these 4 parameters manually.

1. Aperture
  2. Shutter Speed
  3. Focus
  4. Light Sensitivity (ISO/ASA)

They all allow camera to “drink” the light in their own ways. The final result of a combination of the above 4 is “Exposure”. In film theory, staying slightly underexposed is better than overexposed (too much light!)

Aperture is the opening and the first door to how much light you want in the shot, wider openings are brighter and smaller openings are dimmer. Shutter speed is how long your film stays exposed to light, slower speeds are brighter and faster speeds are dimmer. Focus allows you to focus on specific light zones and light sensitivity adds more light to whatever is already available based on certain situations. Each of them (in addition to drinking more light) adds their own unique character to the shot for example depth of field, lens flares and film grains.

ISO / ASA
How sensitive is the image sensor to light.
This is the most important aspect of film photography.
Lower number means sensor is less sensitive to light
High number means sensor is more sensitive to light

Lower numbers give more clarity and Higher numbers while allowing more light in your shot, adds video noise (overexposed grains).