Where should I study in order to become a professional?

Since the beginning of my career as a musician, I studied how to record, mix and compose all by myself. It was not because I wanted, but because the university of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, don’t allow musicians to learn more than one thing in their bachelor’s degree. So, since I’m in the bachelor degree of classical music, I can’t attend classes about mixing and stuff… I can just learn how to perform classical music and that’s it.

So, that being said, I wanted you guys’ opinion about how to study mixing and recording (and everything in between that is important) in order to work as a professional. Also, I don’t want to give up studying classical music, because I love it.

Is there any distance learning course that would give a degree in its completion? Which would you recommend? Also, wich universities do you guys know that have an international scholarship that would be viable? Master’s degree options would be nice to know too.

Sorry for the long text by the way. I literally have no one to ask these things.

1 Like

Very good question. Glad you asked.

Just for context, in the US, many music curriculums have ‘elective’ classes that can be taken in addition to the music major. So its a fair analysis to understand that this is the exception to a curriculum and not the norm.

I did the same thing, and I’m glad I did. I studied the music in college, then learned the technology after. Classical training gives you and edge and competitive advantage which for me, many times was the difference between being able to stay in music vs get a day job. So you’re doing a good thing.

As far as how to train, sound engineering can be learned outside of the university, musicianship can not. You will never be able to immerse yourself in an environment where you can grow and be challenged by the most elite musicians in your country without attending a university.