When your interface stops working... (cubase scarlett and zoom)

I’ve had one of ‘those’ mornings… with my interface. I’m not a beginner but honestly, sometimes I feel like I haven’t a clue. Thought I’d start a thread here to ‘normalise’ the way things can all too often go wrong in the audio world.

I have a Scarlett 6i6. It mostly works okay but I would never define my setup as inherently stable. Strange things happen from time to time and I have had to learn how to sort them out all by myself - technical problem solving does not come at all easily to me. Okay, this morning I was collecting some sounds with my zoom h4N microphone, done that a heap of times. Went to download the sounds onto my dedicated audio computer via usb and I noticed the audio icon /line out showed 'disconnected. No worries, turned the scarlett off and on, re-booted cubase and all should be good. Still no audio via cubase but no visible explanation.

This was a wee beauty… everything appeared fine but no sound. The device and driver were all visible via cubase, but no ability to record or playback. I’ve had troubles in the past with the Scarlett MixControl unit so faffed around with that a bit, also windows media player, checking the disabled realtek blah blah… unplug, re-plug.

Summary:
Plugging the zoom mic in via usb it acts as a separate storage device but this somehow today, (unlike all the times when it has worked just fine) irritated the scarlett which took a usb snitch(emma technical jargon) and disconnected the scarlett’s usb performance mode setting… Yep… If this ever happens to you… (haha, laughs at self in maniacal way)…
Go to Device Setup, Control Panel, USB Performance Mode and check one of the 3 options.

A little scream would be nice… why why WHY do these things just happen???
I’ve lost the driver and the device before but never had a small insignificant checkbox uncheck itself for no apparent reason… go figure…

3 Likes

Venting is healthy Emma…deep breath

1 Like