What are the skills and time needed to host a YouTube channel?

I have Googled info about basic steps to upload videos and how a YouTube channel works, and revisited a couple of good threads here on the forum in this category, but I’d like to ask some questions for any of you who have a YouTube channel or are familiar enough with the process to share your thoughts.

• What is the time investment to start a YouTube channel and maintain it?
  • How long on average does it take to make a video and upload it, and get it ready for view? (see examples below or give your own)
  • How much do you need to know about their “monetization” process, if any?
  • How much do you need to know about the licensing options and legalities?
  • How much technical knowledge or editing savvy do you need about videos?
  • How much video related equipment is a basic necessity?
  • Anything else I need to know?

So here’s a basic scenario, just for an example. Let’s say I have a mastered song (audio track) of my own that I want to put on YouTube. It’s 5 minutes long.
Example 1 is I just want to pick a static image for the video, or maybe a few simple transitions of images, make a video of that with the audio track, and then upload it to YouTube. Per the above questions, what all would likely be involved in terms of knowledge needed and time required?
Example 2 is I actually shoot a “music video”, video footage of some sort to help tell the story of the song. I assume that could take quite a few hours of time depending on how involved it was, time to edit and finalize, and maybe make the video file size much larger than Example 1 … requiring more upload time?

I’m just wanting to get a general idea of the time commitment (and any other resources) needed to maintain a channel, and perhaps this can be a good resource for anyone else wanting to know.