Two Notes Torpedo Captor X Review

Torpedo Captor X - A review

torpedo_captorx_product_1

What is it?
Two Notes describes the Captor X as: “The Torpedo Captor X is a compact reactive load box, tube amp attenuator, miked cab simulator (DynIR Technology), Dual-IR loader and stereo expander for home, live and studio use.”

What to compare it to?
Boss WAZA
Universal Audio OX

PROS:

• I have been using the Captor X for about 6 months now and have found it to be fantastic for “noiseless” (more on that later) utilization of my favorite amp and pedals without having to haul and mic any cabs, etc.

• Great for IEM and silent/quiet stage gigs. It truly shined on several live gigs that I’ve played at with this unit. Honestly experienced my best guitar tone ever over in-ear monitors with this box. It is so nice to be able to just run my gear direct to FOH without the concern of what mics, placement, etc. I was able to get the same tone at the gigs that I was getting at home. I had never experienced that before.

• Several built-in room/space options. This felt very similar to using my amp with my cab in a normal room. I was more impressed with the overall feel than I expected. It felt very natural and 3D. There are other options built-in, like plate, spring, concert hall, etc, but I preferred having the room/studio space as it felt “right” to me.