Trying not to let my mixing chops "Atrophy"

This mix is a multitrack from the Cambridge MT library. A very cool song, where that was used as a “delay challenge” focussing on the use of delay in mixing over at AMC. Since I’ve been confined to home with illness this last week and a half, I decided to mix it. Feel free to drop by and leave your impressions. Thanks

4 Likes

hope all is well. Get well soon! Mix is stellar.
do you have delays on cymbals too? they are a sizzling a bit, unless it is intended.

1 Like

Thanks… No delays on the cymbals - that’s just how they are - they sizzle really hard. I think they were generated by a virtual instrument, and it sounds like during the chorus that the left crash is being ridden with all 127 velocity hits. A bit annoying, but it is what it is, I guess.

1 Like

Hi CRS,
I am not an expert on mixing, as my recording process is “as is, as the time of recording, with preset room reverb effect”.
I understand, that real recording, in most studios, record flat with no effects.
Then after the flat recording, they add the effects like reverb, delay, chorus, etc.
From my viewpoint, this song is superb, and the vocal recording is exquisite.
The recording is very professional, and the instrumentation is very nice.
The balance between the vocals and the instruments are very well mixed.
The process of adding reverb, and delay, etc is not in my wheelhouse, as this skill needs a ,lot of experience and knowledge. Of course, trusting the art is a basic requirement, as well.
I also used to record multi-track, and this kind of recording is perfect.
This multi-track recording and mix is pure excellence to my ear.
The song itself is simply beautiful.
Very well done.

And hope you are back 100%.

With love and respect,
Rene

1 Like