Total Control (Motels cover)

Hey all, here’s something my lovely wife Cynthia and I have been working on for some weeks in which she’s in the spotlight on vocals. It’s a cover of Total Control, from the 1979 self-titled debut album by The Motels (great band from the resurgent late 70s LA club scene), fronted by the splendid Martha Davis. I’ve always loved this song, which came out the year after I graduated high school, not least because my young self had a massive crush on Ms. Davis :crazy_face:

Here I’m hewing much more closely to the original than I usually do in my covers for the simple reason that the real strength of this tune is in its spare arrangement and straightforward rhythms, and coming at it from some other direction seems pointless. So it’s a couple of guitars, bass, midi drums, and some 70s synthy keys. The original had a sax solo (maybe my very fave sax solo ever), to which I’ve tried to pay homage on effects-y electric guitar. It’s right down Main Street for Cynthia vocally, and we had lots of fun doing it as we’ve been continuing to quarantine.

Thanks for listening!

V2 following suggestions from that Golden Eared Dude:

2 Likes

Hey Dave, great to hear some more of your work! I LOVE this song. As you’ve observed, the original is a masterpiece of minimalism and restraint, with the centrepiece being Matha Davis’ incredible vocal performance.

I think you’ve done a great job here. Cynthia has nailed the vocal performance! Really nice!

Musically, you have all the parts in place, and the mix sounds good. I don’t know how far you want to take this, but there are a few crucial nuances that make a big difference in this track. You may probably be happy to just leave it as is, as this is pretty picky stuff:

• Tightness - they rhythm guitar is flamming with the snare drum. Part of the feel of the original is the super-tightness of the parts - they are all hitting together as tightly as is humanly possible.