Time stretching at mastering stage: common practice or nonsense?

Hey guys,

I have been considered to master a hip-hop album and I am about to get the first track as a sample before the artist and I reach a final agreement. I am only a beginner at mastering.

The artist requests that the track is sped up 2 bpm. My initial reaction is that this will lead to noticeable digital artefacts and I am inclined to strongly discourage this, but it might be a common practice that I am not aware of? I am not familiar with producing hip hop music.

Any opinion on this?

I’ve never had access to time stretching algos that sound good enough to use on a master.

But, I read that on David Gilmour’s “On an Island” solo album, when the final mixes were delivered they decided the album was a little too laid back so they sped tracks up marginally, trying several different algorithms to find the one that was most transparent.

I know it’s a very different kind of music but the principle’s the same…

Here’s the SOS article; https://www.soundonsound.com/people/recording-david-gilmours-island

Here’s the relevant part;

"One of the things Chris felt is that a lot of the tempos were too slow. It’s a fairly laid-back album anyway, completely overtly so, and David’s never been apologetic about that. He said ‘That’s where my head’s at, that’s what I want to do.’ But Chris still felt some of the tracks were too slow so we ended up, after a lot of experimentation, time-compressing some things using Serato Pitch 'n Time in Pro Tools, which is generally regarded as being the best-sounding time-manipulation plug-in out there. The time-compression was a very laborious process, but fortunately somebody else did it — listening to each part, deciding which algorithm worked best for which type of material! This was all done on a second Pro Tools rig in another room.