There's gotta be something...new one...wondering about lyrics and levels

I started this last week. It is a terrible thing to admit, but i was having coffee with my buds last week when in walked an absolute beautiful gal. Of course there was gawking going on. (shameful) In walks the boyfriend. Then I heard from one of the guys. “wow shat does she see in him” ? I went into song mode. I am not good at levels or lyrics that many times don’t make perfect sense. Love to hear your thoughts.

There’s gotta be somethin

(Asus2) She picked me …… what was she… thinkin of (Dsus2)
…cuz I’m not very special at all (Asus2))………not good
(Dsus2) lookin no I’m not even close to tall (Asus2)
(E) on top of a mountain … I’m hopin that I’m not gonna fall (Asus2)

I look in the mirror … I wonder why …did she F G Pre
fall in love with this average guy cuz F G

I might not be pretty… I might not be cool…If D A chorus
I thought I was adorable well I’d be a fool G A
There’s gotta be somethin…sometnin bout me D A
Gotta be something… something I can’t see G A D

Confidence…it’s nuthin that I ever had… I ain’t never even been kissed
She’s so close now…an opportunity I can’t miss
My heart is just poundin…I’ve never known a moment like this
F#m E F#m
I guess it doesn’t matter…the way that I feel…my heart keeps tellin me that for sure it’s real
I guess it don’t matter all the reasons why…as long as I can look in those beautiful eyes

This one is very nice, it fits your voice and delivery, and by playing the guitar in the upper register there’s no clashing going on.
Nothing wrong with the lyrics, it just needs to be filled in a little bit.

1 Like

Hey Bob Yeah this was a quicky. I am very poor at any lead work. I played (and still do) play rhythm in our band. We have a guy that is scary good at shreddin. Getting him to go back to the verse again sometimes takes a shin kick. That chord might be a A sus or something in that neighborhood. thanks for the BS session bud