Test time :D (15 questions)

https://hofa-college.com/audio-engineering-test/

I came across this audio engineering test and scored

Ambitioned Beginner

You’re on the right track!

You already know a few things about audio engineering, but there are many tips and tricks waiting to be discovered. Continue working on your production skills and you’ll soon get much better results.

1 Like

I did all my answers, and after hitting the final Submit, it is returning a “server side error” and can’t give me my results. I think I missed four out of fifteen, maybe five… a few I had to just guess, I had no idea.

Same here. I got 4 or 5 wrong also.

Error on the score, but I knew a few. Lot of guessing involved, and I could not tell about the limiter on the master. I don’t think I’m a good engineer!

I got the same error at the end.

I missed a four - one on phase metering, glass mastering, dithering, and the one about the subtractive VCA matrix. I made a wild guess on the XY mic config but got it correct. I didn’t even know what it talking about. The wording on these was terrible. Some of this stuff we all know the answers to, but didn’t recognize the terminology.

Mine actually went through to the results… Semi-Professional… yay! Missed the distance between mics for the one mic technique and kinda blew the master listening test at the end.

This was a total bullshit question. Either LFO in that picture was clearly capable of controlling any of those functions, and the picture was misleading in where it was routed. Since a panner and a filter are both also capable of having a VCA component which can receive a modulation signal from the LFO generator, it COMPLETELY depends on where the signal was routed to.

LFO -> Vca panner = Tremolo
LFO -> Vca oscillator sync 1+2 = vibrato
LFO -> Vca filter = Wah Wah

But based on the answer what we were supposed to assume was that the VCA applied only to AMPLITUDE of Oscillator 1.

Did anyone else miss this question?