Synthesizer

I am trying to find a virtual synthesizer to use in my daw, however, I’m a newbie when the subject is this stuff (i only use samplers). Anyway, I am trying to find something that lets me manually add harmonics and change the timbre the way I want. Does anyone know something that could be used in a DAW?

What daw? Logic has at least 4 or 5 like you described, stock. Pro tools does as well but you have to kind if dig into the avid site. Other then that do you use Kontakt? Or Waves makes instruments as plug ins as well. There are so many its hard to even recall one, otherwise I would. I would look into Kontakt instruments first!

I use reaper and Kontakt. Wich Kontakt instrument you recommend? I thought it was just a sampler.

Thanks for the reply!

Xfer Serum is a great starting point. It’s a class of synths called a Wavetable synth. Similar to NI massive.

Spectrasonics Omnisphere is also a good all-in-one.

Arturia are pretty common, but they’re limited in scope. They are known for modeling old school synths. They do this very well, but no vintage synths has the range of capabilities which a modern synth has.

IK, UHe, Rob Papen, Native Instruments and Waves all make good stuff. All of those can be used in a DAW. If you have any questions on specific ones, feel free to ask.

1 Like

@Tmasterp - My understanding was that he needed a good all-purpose synth. Most of the stuff in Kontakt is sample libraries… The bulk of Native Instrument’s multi-purpose synths are mostly standalone or live inside Reaktor vs Kontakt.

1 Like

What do you mean by that? And also, what are you looking to spend? If you’re really new to it and just looking to explore, Helm is a nice synth that is free.