Streaming Music Creation/Production on Twitch/Youtube

So @danmanisa mentioned he had a bunch of questions for me about streaming live songwriting/music production (since I’m doing said thing), and I figured, rather than waiting for him to start the conversation, I’d start it.

I must mention that I haven’t been doing it very long and I’m still learning (thus the reason for posting in Beginners), but I have some idea of the technical issues if anyone has questions about that.

I can’t tell you how to make money (though I can tell you how others seem to make money) or how to be successful (I’m still working that out).

The first thing I can tell you is that almost no one watches those streams on twitch. Even people with thousands of followers and thousands of subscribers who get 2-300 people for their live performance streams only get a tenth of that for their production streams.

Also, you can do it on a single computer, but it’s better if you have separate computers for audio and for streaming the video. I do it on a single computer, but the streaming software and the webcam eat probably 15% of my cpu, which puts limits on what I can do in the DAW. I can’t wait to get another computer.

3 Likes

I had never heard of Twitch before, prior to your other thread. So what exactly is it supposed to be, as I’m a bit oblivious. Is it an alternative to YouTube, or kind of a niche/micro-niche site? It looks like music and gaming stuff, though I have no idea of the full palette of content yet.