Still Happy - EDM, Jazz, Insturmental

I had an idea when I went to make this, but it turned out completely different than what I expected. Anyway, any feedback on the mix, arrangement, etc. Should I keep working it or scrap it.

2nd mix

5 Likes

I like it. Once you get the mix more balanced, it will be a nice sounding recording.

1 Like

Iā€™d kill for that guitar tone. some great playing for sure. Like those runs down. What are those notes ā€¦dotted 128th?? I know zero about jazz. That said I found this to be an enjoyable listen.
Perfet for a more progressive doctorā€™s office waiting room. Not what you wanted to hear I suppose. Tell it like you hear it. nice work

1 Like

Love it! Great arrangement and guitar chops. Did you program all the drums? Some very creative rhythm/fill changeups.

Being a guitarist I did want to hear a little more ā€œbiteā€ in the guitar to make it pop a bit more. A little upper-mid eq at just right frequency might do the trick. This could be done in just certain sections of the song where the guitar needs to be highlighted. Then leave the EQ as-is for the other sections, where the softer tone blends in well with the rest of the mix.

Great stuffā€¦Thanks for sharing!

1 Like

@JayGee Thanks. I just put up a somewhat better mix, but it still might not be balanced perfectly. Thanks for the feedback.

@feaker Thanks. Iā€™m always worried about my guitar tone, but I guess that is normal for a guitarist. Iā€™d be happy to have it playing in a doctorā€™s office. Better than nowhere. Thanks for the feedback.

@flyguitarfish Yes I did program all the drums. I tired to automate the EQ on the guitar at certain points, but Iā€™m not sure if I did enough or not. Thank you.

1 Like

Hi Mr C I just went back and kept going back and forth between the two and honestly I canā€™t hear a difference. IMHO this is professional work ā€¦end of story. I am just a tad green here.

Reall makes this site fun when the song makers are out in force.

1 Like