Song creation process woes

I’m curious about how people go about creating songs.

The reason being, I’m having an issue with my own process. There’s a step I hate. And I’m at that step now with a new song, haha.

Basically, when I write a new song it comes together in various pieces. I have a lot of experience writing songs on my guitar, and leaving them with just a guitar and vocal. What I’ve been learning over the past year is how to produce a good recording. So now, when I’m writing a song, there are all of these decisions that need to be made. What’s the BPM? What is the song’s structure? What instruments do I want to use for various parts, and what will they play? That sort of thing. And so as I work, I create what I call a “sketch” of the song. A proof of concept. As an example, here’s the “sketch” I created for the song I’m working on now: https://soundcloud.com/rileyhawke/witness-sketch/s-kIUq5

I create the sketch with the intention of re-recording everything for the final song. I don’t pay a ton of attention to what mic I’m using for what, or mic placement or tone. Just enough that it’s mostly there. I haven’t practiced much so there may be mistakes. It’s just a bunch of scratch tracks.

I run into an issue when I go to record the final tracks. I like, freeze up in a way. “Okay, now these are the final tracks so they have to be perfect,” I tell myself. And I lose the vibe. I get frustrated. I really hate this step! I used to not do it at all–I’d just use what I’d recorded the first time around because I wasn’t shooting for as high a quality. The one part I don’t mind doing again is the vocal. But yeah this step in general feels so sterile to me. Like there’s nothing creative about it.