Some new areas I'm studying and researching in mixing

Dave Pensado and Warren Huart have both commented on commonly reoccurring problems they see (especially with younger mix guys) involve the balance and management of the 120-180hz space and below.

I confess this is one of my weak areas. But it’s important. And when mixing, LF translation has many challenges. I’m going back and revisiting a lot of training materials on this.

For the last month I’ve been paying careful attention to how bass guitars interact with the environment around them. They’re such a crazy animal to me! Over the last several years I’ve often just shoved the bass into the mix, inserted a one-off like the Waves JJP bass on it and turned knobs or clicked through presets until something sounded reasonable. But as my client base has started to sweeten into some higher stakes projects I’ve started to feel the pressure of having a solid handle on this.

So I plan to dedicate a good amount of time to this over the next couple months refining my process of fine-tuning LF. I’ll spend time researching, examining, looking at training materials, experimenting and always seeking to apply this stuff to projects I’m working on at the moment.

Ps…I picked up the UAD Ampeg sim for $25 today! Yay for coupons!

Any thoughts, feel free to share!

I’d love to see how you progress with this. It’s a weak spot for me too. Particularly in learning how to get bass to translate well on smaller speakers in a way that I’d like.

Here’s some thoughts and some questions that I’m gonna be digging into over the next month or so.

As a quick reply, translating to smaller speakers like a laptop was never difficult for me. Its going the other way around where I’ve completely bullshitted my way through mixes.