So which DAW should I switch to?

I’ve always used Sonar but now that they are done I guess it’s time to start thinking about other DAWs. I’m not in a huge hurry or anything, I still have Sonar, but I figure it will be easier to switch now at my leisure than later on. So what are some good DAWs? What do you guys use?

I’m a pro tools guy, but I like reaper too. It’s pretty widely used among this group of folks also. Definitely worth checking out for the price!

2 Likes

Reaper is definitely at the top my list of potential DAWs, I used it once like 7 or 8 years ago on one song and I liked it. The only reason I stuck with Sonar was because of all the cool extra plugins and stuff it came with. I need to do a test and see what all plugins I’ve gotten used to with Sonar work in Reaper. I especially liked Reapers ability to route tracks into other tracks.

1 Like

Pro tools if you want to be using what everyone else is for the sake of collaboration, and you don’t mind paying for it. Reaper if you’re on a shoestring budget. Digital Performer or Logic if you need to run it on multiple machine licenses are important. I’m not sure if Cubase has any real distinct advantages anymore. Other than the stock autotune outshines everything else.

Studio One and Mixcraft are also popular.

If you can afford Pro Tools, or if you can figure out how to get an academic license for $9/mo, do it.

1 Like

Yes…that IS useful…All of them can do that.

Hmm. Reaper is weak in this area. I feel PT has the best set of stock plugins. IMO, Pro Tools and Cubase tie for the most usable VI’s. I’m disappointed with the Logic/Mainstage VI’s, apart from the Alchemy library.

1 Like

Another vote for Reaper. It’s cheap, efficient, and doesn’t use up that much memory. Very intuitive and they’ve got a ton of great videos about working the DAW and mixing. Since they’re a semi-small company they actually listen to consumer feedback and make improvements when they update the damn thing.

2 Likes