Screaming for Attention

This is my first time posting so I am not sure if the link is in the right place for soundcloud. I am a new guy here and I have been recording for about 15 years now. I started a new song yesterday and I just have a verse and a chorus so far. Before I got too far into the song, I thought I would post it on here for feedback for whatever you think about it. I just “glued” the two parts together (verse then chorus) so it would not have an obvious weird spot between them. I am looking for feedback on the vocals and if there is too much noise going on in the chorus, such as the guitar. Thanks in advance for any help.

James

The link work perfectly! For some reason though, there was a ton of distortion on your song. Is something overdriven on the mix, or was that intentional?

Do you mean distortion with the whole song or just with the bass line?

Oh! It’s the distortion/fuzz on the bass. Now that you say that, I can tell. And then it clears up. I hadn’t listened long enough.
Yeah, I’d bring that down. Sounds like the entire mix is clipping otherwise. I get what you were trying to accomplish though. The way it is currently though, it’s overpowering everything else in the mix.
My 2 cents :wink:

I got you. Yes, the bass is played through my LA-610 and I put the gain up and the level down so the bass has a distortion sound. So you are saying it is too much. The bass dose not play into the chorus but it must still have a higher level on the non-distorted base. Thanks for the feedback, I will lower it and see what I can do for the over all peaking.

at 1minute its a short tune, not that Elvis’s Hound Dog was a long tune.
distortion seems to be in when at the skateboard shops and this song would fit well there, or at the Vans stores.as for the mix…the snare could fill the gap if louder, it would be interesting to hear a version with that to decide.

1 Like