Recording a professional company phone message

I posted last year about how to get the best quality out of a recording for a phone message. I currently use Nextiva, that uses a VoIP phone system. Their requirements for their upload messages are

• .wav file
  • PCM Uncompressed (sometimes called u-Law)
  • 8 or 16 Bit
  • 8000 HZ
  • Mono

Being a complete novice at this whole thing, not matter what I do to tweak a recording in Sonar or Reaper, when it is converted to that spec, it sounds like an AM radio underwater. Does anyone know how bigger companies have their phones set up to sound professional? Or is there a way to get that sound on your own somehow?

Many thanks
James

This one doesn’t make much sense to me. Do you have a link to these specs? What exact conversion criteria are you using?

Personally, I think a lot of them sound like crap. I don’t know if they use old technology or what, but the audio quality is frequently horrible, the hold music often is way too loud and distorted, and the voice messages are usually not that great either. I’d be delighted to come across one that actually sounds good.

I copied and pasted the criteria right off of the Nextiva upload info, that is all that it says. I recorded the message in Sonar x3 and then I used Goldwave to convert it to what they called for. I do think most of the phone systems are horrible. I am thinking about switching over to Freedomvoice for phone service as they claim you can use an Mp3 or a wave file. My thought is that the Mp3 has to be a better quality, right?

This looks like the page:

https://www.nextiva.com/support/articles/can-i-upload-my-own-greetings.html

I really don’t know what they’re taking about with 8000 Hz. It’s possible they mean “sample rate”. For example, if we say 44,100 Hz that is a specification for sample rate per the Nyquist Theorem that is roughly double the highest frequency humans can hear. Nobody uses anything lower than that these days.