Personality- Why wait? Why not?

I mixed this for the challenge and maybe a bash, not the contest, but … why not?

I used the untuned vocals (touched up with Cubase’s Vari-audio), the DI electric guitar (reamped in the box), and the miked acoustic guitars. I do mostly sing-songwriter acoustic songs, so don’t have much experience mixing drums or heavy guitars, but I did my best…

0 voters

Good morning! I added the rating poll for you. :wink:
Good luck!!

1 Like

Thanks! I’m not very good with rules, apparently.

Hi, your mix sounds ok in general. You could definietely improve on the voc tuning (mine is far from perfect too) and thicken the distorted guitars. It is a bit difficult to hear the acoustic as well. Keep mixing!

I actually like leaving some of the vocalist’s flaws in the mix; A loose sense of pitch sometimes defines them. I didn’t really like what the acoustic was doing to the song and progressions, so I emphasized the strumming sound and pushed it down as a subtle rhythmic element. My goal was to actually shrink the electric guitars’ footprint, so the less dense, less “metal-y” sound was what I was trying to achieve. I was hoping it would give the mix a little breathing room.

Thank you for the comments. I appreciate the feedback and opinion from a different set of ears!

2 Likes

for some reason the music player shows up and then disappears from the OP. i have refreshed several times and it does it every time.

Works here, but maybe a direct link will work better? Try this:

Bashing as I listen: drums are a bit soft perhaps for this type of song. Ambiance is fine, and tones are ok for the most part. But some level issues, like disappearing acoustic (perhaps some transient design during the fuller parts could help bringing them back). You said you re-amped the guitars but I think I preferred the original tones. Yours are a bit too fizzy. But it’s not bad, honestly.

1 Like