Old mattress as acoustic treatment

So I got a new mattress, which means I’ve got a giant old mattress to get rid of. The things a huge king sized mattress, I could almost cover the whole front or back wall of my music room with it. The back wall has windows, I was thinking i could put it in front of those and at least muffle the sound from outside if nothing else. I don’t know anything about acoustic treatment, I’ve been mixing in headphones for 12 years lol. It just seems a shame to throw out a giant thing that looks like it could absorb a lot of sound.

It will definitely help .Apparently tales are the best .A guy done some tests proved they was better than the little cheap acoustic panels

1 Like

It will get you some blockage from outside noise yes, if that seems to be a big issue. It wont offer anything else of value from the recording perspective, it may end up making your sound a bit worse as it acts like a high pass filter and doesn’t offer any significant absorption under 1khz. It can however than assist in making of an MA rated film in the studio though so you never know…

2 Likes

Whatever works, The Police recorded their first two albums in a shitty little cottage with only egg cartons as soundproofing, and I think their second album sounds great. I wish I had a spare mattress that wasn’t all crusty or full of crabs. Hanging one up could only do you good to absorb the sound. If you throw an entire bedspread up there, that would work too. I sometimes hang my entire blanket on my window where the curtains should be so that it’s pitch black like midnight no matter what time of day is to get depression sleep in, also so it is too dark to find the rope to hang from. If it blocks light, it’ll block sound.

1 Like