New Reaper Convert: Who knows the tricks?

Finally made the switch to Reaper to take better advantage of my system, and so far it is pretty impressive, but I have a lot to learn. For you wizards who have been using it for a while, are there some main things I should know to speed up the learning curve? I’ve been using Cubase forever, and I’m trying to transition smoothly. Thanks for your help.

When you say “take better advantage of your system” , what do you mean? Was Cubase not working for you or what made you to decide to switch to Reaper?

I am just curious as to why people switch d.a.w.'s .

1 Like

Hey Styles - good man! I’ve been using Reaper for about 2 years now but embarassingly, I must admit that I am very far from knowing it well.

All I can offer is - what are you finding odd/different so far?

My version of Cubase was old enough that it limited the available memory the computer could use, which caused latency in some plugs, and limited me to using one instance of S-Gear at a time, etc. Reaper also seems to use a lot less processing power itself, and has some advantages in terms of exporting files more easily. It’s also a challenge to learn something new, and for $60 I figured it might help clear some of the cobwebs in my befuddled brain. Lots of plugs included also. Now I’m running it at 64 bit, and higher sample rate on recording, which gives me a little more headroom to work with. Not trying to write an ad for Reaper, but the free upgrade is nice too, although it doesn’t last forever. There have been at least five upgrades for Cubase since I installed Elements 5, most of which wouldn’t do much for me, but my version runs 32 bit only.

1 Like