Need some mix help here

This track is a jazz collab I did with composer Frank Paul. He’s hearing audio skips on his equipment, does anybody else hear skips or drop outs? I don’t hear anything like that but I’m hoping to find out if we have a problem here.

Any other comments or criticism is welcome, thanks for listening!

2 Likes

I didn’t notice anything like that. Make sure you’re listening to your exported file that you sent him (?) and not your DAW in order to check that.

The piano thing in the intro is cool, kind of ‘atonal’ (or whatever you call that), and a bit weird, but yet interesting. When the drums come in about 0:40 the beat feels weird and ‘off’ … I assume it’s an unusual time signature or meter on the drums, so maybe that’s it, but it is kind of distracting. Keep in mind I was a Rock drummer for some years, so I’m more used to straight ahead beats.

The splash cymbal at 1:40 is a tad loudish, though it also breaks the ‘spell’ of the existing rhythm and sets the stage for the change-up, so maybe it’s a planned cue? That’s a cool change-up at 1:47, I like how the stand-up bass (?) comes in and plays around. Then that tambo/snare/rim-shot picks up and feels very fun - though both snare and rim-shot almost simultaneously would be tricky for a real drummer - I assume this is MIDI drums (?). Another change-up at 2:40, and since this is an instrumental those changes do help keep the interest going. I like the keyboard ‘run’ at 3:30. The saxophone part is very nice, is that MIDI or acoustic? It sounds very good, so I’m guessing acoustic.

I’m not that well-versed on jazz, but I’ll say that the pattern change-ups come often enough to keep it interesting, but not too frequent to where it feels chaotic. Just unusual and different. There are some nice melodic solos going on, interspersed with the ‘atonal’ as I mentioned.

2 Likes

I don’t hear any skips at all. I love the upright bass and I agree with everything Stan pretty much says.

2 Likes