Need advice on percussion recording

Hey,

Tomorrow I have a recording session planned for a short shamanic drum part, in a song that is mainly made of acoustic guitars and vocals. I’ve never recorded this kind of percussion instruments, and I even don’t know exactly what it looks or sound like. I assume it’s similar to bongos.

I have a poor acoustic space to use (either the mixing room which is quiet damp and really small, or a bigger room with a high ceiling and very reverberant (little to no furniture, big plain walls). I assume the right method would be to try various mic positions and listen to choose the best sounding combination, but since I have very little experience with this, I would like to have some advice on how to record this drum broadly speaking, just to narrow the scope of possibilities and save time…

BTW I only have a pair of multi-pattern LDC mics to use for this (Lewitt LCT640).

1 Like

I’m afraid the dynamic mics would be ideal for your situation.