Nail care for bassists

Hey all,

I could use some tips from bassists about taking care of fingernails on the right hand.

I find that after playing bass for not all that long – half an hour or so – the nails on my right fingers really wear down badly. I’ve noticed for years that my nails get more and more brittle as the years pass, and even playing steel strings on a guitar with my nails is problematic (hence I use Alaska Piks whenever I play finger-style on every acoustic except my classical). This is obviously not conducive to getting better at bass…! Or anything else with the instrument for that matter.

What do you bass players do to take care of your nails and fingers? Thanks!

1 Like

I’ve always used a hard plectrum as opposed to finger-walking, using a light strumming action or plucks, depending on the song. I did frequently get blisters on my l/h fingers when I started playing, but now I’ve got hard skin!

You might try false nails… you may laugh, but one of my friend’s daughter does that for a living, and a few of her clients are local bassists!

2 Likes

They wear down, or they chip and break? I don’t know if I ever had a nail ‘wear down’ without using a nail file. :open_mouth:

Yeah, that’s part of the aging process AFAIK. I think you can take gelatin tablets or similar supplements to help strengthen nails. I have been considering that myself.

I just clip and file them pretty meticulously. As I said, mine do not wear down noticeably, and they don’t chip or break all that much but probably because I’m careful about that. I have always clipped them short, though recently after reading about Geddy Lee’s style - that he learned to grow out his nails on the right since he doesn’t use a pick at all - I have tried using some longer nails with finger playing.