My room. Advice on treatment!

Matt from the UK. Producing Trance music and need to treat my bedroom. Its 3.7mx3.7m and 1.9m tall. Due to it also being a bedroom its not a perfect room but its all i have. Please find attached a pic of my room and the proposed treatment. The treatment is all ear level and above due to having furniture also in the room. I would also be having treatment on the ceiling above me. Any advice on if I’m on the right track or something else that would give me a better sound?

Cheers

Matt

@Ethan_Winer watched your videos on Youtube and you seem very clued up on this. Any help really appreciated :slight_smile:

It’ll be a bit of a tough go because the bed will mess with reflections, and having the monitors that close to the wall will cause some issues too.

Ok here’s some thoughts, but bear in mind I’m no expert, and people with more knowledge may come and shit on what I have to say :rofl:

• Try to have your corner traps on an angle. Bass accumulates in corners, and the way you have it here, you’re just moving where the corner is as opposed to trying to reduce how much corner there is.
  • I would consider diffusion instead of absorption on the wall opposite your desk, as it might help reduce some standing waves.
  • Also if you’re able, consider hanging some absorption above your sitting position.

Make sure you have good headphones to reference on, and Sonarworks would be a pretty important investment. There will probably be lots of issues so listen to tons of music on your monitors and headphones and constantly reference other music when creating your own. Even without a perfect space, if you know how existing music should sound in your space, then you’re well on the way to being able to make your own music translate. To be perfectly honest… you could probably go minimal on treatment as long as you take the time to learn how mixes translate on your system.

1 Like