My Path to Becoming a Pro Tools NINJA!

In the process of getting ready to launch the new studio operation, I’ve been spending the last week gearing up to kick some serious ass in the land of DAW. I’ve been spending hours every day conforming all the DAWs to the ProTools workflow, and practicing through repetition, frequently utilized sequences of macro commands.

Five years ago, I started learning and exploring all DAWs, as it was necessary to accommodate a wide range of commercial clients. I always found it was a struggle to keep up with lists of hundreds of shortcuts and workflow tricks of seven or eight different DAWs. Back then my strategy was to use touch screen control surfaces to execute commands that were too hard to memorize. That way, regardless of what the native key commands were, the record button arm always appeared as a red dot on the control surface. Right?

The problem I ran into was compatibility. Though Avids Eucon protocol allows an iPad or a physical mixing desk to see the menu items across all major DAWs, I kept having to lug my artist controllers to other studios, install them, and hook them up if I wanted to do anything serious. And then two years ago, DP released an update that royally fucked beautifully organized template, and I’d had enough.

Now the strategy is to learn protools, then make everything else act like protools. And I’m going to learn to do everything from a qwerty keyboard this time, because every studio is certain to have one, and they all work the same *or they should anyway. So…solving problems.

Thats what the office has looked like for the last couple days. I do better with this stuff on paper.

Printed out 70 pages of PT key commands and tossed it in a binder.

I started drawing visual cues and organizing clumps of similar shortcut commands. The circled things:
O
OOO