My first ever metalcore mix

Hi everyone. This is my first time on this site and I wanted to get some serious feedback on my first metalcore mix from professional producers. I was originally sidechaining the bass, but I took off the sidechain because some people said it’s better to rely on EQs. I’m quad tracking the guitars, using a pitch shifter to make it sound lower (since I can’t afford strings). I’m using MIDI drums and MIDI bass. The bass MIDI is on 2 tracks, on one track, everything over 600 is cut, and on the second track, everything below 100. The high track is distorted a bit to taste. I’m using Emissary as my amp sim. I’m struggling with making the mix not sound flobby and I want it more glued together, and also I feel like the kick should cut through more. Please tell me where and what I’m doing wrong and how to improve it. I’ll have to link the track through SoundCloud so it will be compressed more and sound poorly.

1 Like

I’d say the kick cuts through plenty. Probably a little too much. I feel like the drums could use more space. It sounds like you are relying a bit too much on the close mics and not enough of the overheads. I mean, it’s not super out of the norm the way it is, but it sounds like you were more focused on getting the drums to cut through than you were on trying to get the drums to sit right.

1 Like

Thanks. The drums are MIDI (recorded) so I don’t really have control over the mics. I totally wish I did though. How do you think I could get them to sit better? I’m really new to this.

What drum plugin are you using?

MT-Power Drumkit

Doesn’t that one give you the option to mix the mic perspectives?

I don’t think so. I can check again. I have the free version.

If you go into the mixer section, you have direct access to the mic levels.

edit: scratch that. It looks like you only have control over the volume of the drums, but not the mix.

Yeah, i thought so.

What else is there to do?