Must have VSTs for intermediate (EQ/Compression etc.)

The reason I say intermediate is because I don’t like complicated VSTs - I’m a session musician not a sound engineer but I do want my work to sound great.

Any VSTs that have a simple interface or loads of presets? I’m looking for EQ/Compressor/Reverb and anything else I should be aware of that can improve the sound of recordings.

Thank you guys :smiley:

Waves has a bunch of the signature series type plugins that are designed to be plugin and play. I personally don’t love using those types of plugins, but if you are looking for fast, no-nonsense, then those can be a good place to start. Just watch for sales, because they have them all the time.

Although, usually non-complicated means narrow use as well (not a hard and fast rule). If you want a simple one or two knob compressor, you’ll want a different one for drums and a different one for vocals, etc. and it will require hunting around quite a bit to find the one that you feel fits best.

Hi Maru - Which DAW are you using? The reason I ask is that many DAWs come with fairly easy to use eq and compression, so it might be worth exploring those before shelling out for 3rd party plugins.

2 Likes

I’ll check out Waves!

I’m using Cubase AI Elements 8 (I don’t really need more as a session musician cause all I do is track lol)

If that’s the case, I’d definitely consider sticking with the stock plugins. There’s this idea floating around that stock plugins are no good, but that’s just not the case. I mean, they can be bad, but so can 3rd party.

1 Like

Cubase stock EQ and compression are great… I use them all the time. It’s only the reverb I wasn’t too keen on but there are a HEAP of reverbs downloadable…

1 Like

Dude, if you wanna know about plugins, you came to the right forum!

What instrument? I can throw some ideas your way, but it would help to know. There’s a number of great plugins that shine on some instruments, and suck on others.