Midi drum editing question....hi hat AND ride together?

So ive really been getting into “by hand” midi drum editing. Really getting into the nitty gritty and I see its going to help take my songs another notch higher. Of course its extremely tedious since im new at it…taking me like an hour or more to program thru the intro chorus lol

Anyway, so im aware that generally we want to do things that drummers actually do. They have 2 arms and 2 legs. So AFAIK if they are doing a pattern with snare and hi hat, they wont also be hitting the ride cymbal.

So I decide to program “Rainbow in the Dark”. I clearly hear the ride going in the intro chorus…but then I realize there is also a LOT of the loose hi hat (or maybe even a crash) splashing around

check it out:

So I try to find a live version with Vinny Appice drumming and to me it sounds like he is just using the ride

So basically they just overdubbed that in the studio?? I know a lot of times they add plenty of extra noise (claps, snaps, stomps) to the drum track just to give it drive

I’m sure the recording of Holy Diver is well documented, I’ll have to google it for you. I know they did it at sound city and it’s the only good sounding album Dio put out in the 1980s.

1 Like

yeah, i loved that first one but even to this day im pretty foggy on the other stuff he did in the 80s…even though I now have the box set “a decade of Dio”. I was thinking Vivian was only on 2 albums but I see he was on 3. I couldnt tell u anything about Dream Evil or Sacred Heart and I can only name a couple off of Last in Line. I always did like the song “Breathless”

Crazy how that first album was so mega classic but then it trailed off

I will say this though, the 90s stuff has KILLER production to my ears. I been listening to Strange Highways and Angry Machines and even though the songwriting isnt the best, the crisp, dry, tight production is killer.