Manually playing drums with pads etc?

So I have been using EZ Drummer2 for a couple years now. obviously its great and without it id be non-functioning

That being said, I just got a Novation Sl MK2 49 keyboard. The thought occurs to me that I might try manually playing some drums to give a different feel to some songs

How many of you are manually playing drums for your songs?

Are you guys using different variations? I can see for example keeping the EZ Drummer hi hats and cymbals but manually entering the kick and snare…or vice versa

any ideas?

Anyone playing EZ Drummer manually with pads etc?

if it works im not averse to ordering a more dedicated set of drum pads or whatever

Thanks, JJ

I find it takes longer to sift through the loops to find the right one than it does to just play it most of the time. But it really depends on how picky I am about the song. If it’s just a quick jingle thingy, then I’ll pick one and run with it. If it’s for a song that I want to sound a certain way exactly, I’ll play it out.

I don’t find that the loops sound any less human, it’s just that they tend to be 90% of what I want at best. If I can find one quickly that’s 90% what I want, sometimes I’ll just use it and make changes to it.

I’m finding speed to be more and more important the more I do this stuff.

3 Likes

the thing im worried about there is that ive never been a drummer. I dont technically know everything that drummers do etc

one thought I do have is that one could drum out the basic pattern with pads and THEN use THAT to search thru all the libraries like with “tap to find”

there are variations of opening the high hat that I have never figured out on ez drummers internal “tap to find” function

the little basic opening pattern https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMoJnvhlh2g

if I could get that going with external pads then id be a little ahead of the game