Just realised I never introduced myself, how rude!

Hello!

So I found this forum in a random google search a couple of weeks back and was surprised to find that

a; it appeared to be just starting up and

b; the posters seemed quite nice and civil.

Given that a few of the recording/production forums I like have kind of died in the last few years, this was a nice discovery!

It’s nice when you actually know who’s posting, it’s one of the things I hate about big forums that it’s all anonymous and you never know who to trust/ respect/ listen to.

So let me say this here; don’t trust, respect or listen to me. I’m not a pro, I’m not an expert, I’m a fool who loves recording, production and mixing and wishes he was much better at it all.:blush:

My Name is Josh, I’m 31, I live in Birmingham in the UK with my wife and I’m in an alt rock band called Captain Horizon. I play guitar, drums, I try to sing, and I write songs. My band’s biggest claims to fame are that we’ve supported Electric 6 and released an album on a label who also work with Blaze Bayley of Wolfsbane and Iron Maiden semi-fame. We also released an album and three EPs ourselves.

I did a music technology degree and it’s been a passion of mine but never a career so far, mainly because out of uni I got a job that pays money with which I got used to being able to afford things like food, a car and a house to live in. So though music creation is my passion I’m in the unfortunate situation that it’s not my livelihood. That said, I spend most evenings and weekends at my band’s rented rehearsal studio working on music, and last year I produced an album for an Italian songwriter which was a great experience and a lot of fun.