Is digital headroom necessary for a clear mix?

Hmmm. Video claims sufficient headroom is necessary for a clear mix. In the box?? I’m no expert on metering. But my intuition said ‘wait a sec…that doesn’t sound right’. Any thoughts?

1 Like

I’m could use a little bit more understanding about headroom before truly trying to answer that :smiley: As far as I read about it, I can imagine this just being a sales stunt, but then again, please explain the following to me from your experience.

When working with the following chain setup: mic-preamp-interface-computer/DAW-interface-monitors
Is there a difference in:
A) adjusting your preamp input volume so that in your DAW, you read on your selected channel an average input lvl of -12db, to leave space for using compressors and stuff.
B) Setting preamp lvl’s so you have and input lvl around 0db, and just lowering the channel volume when applying processing.

is there a difference in sound or spaciousness in a mix between using these methods ?

I have no experience with anologue gear, but I can some what imagine the effect it has. Any good examples of this o youtube ?

Greetings

I always thought as long as nothing was clipping it was fine, just might have to turn things down as more tracks gets added to avoid clipping the master bus. It’s possible I’m completely wrong about that, but it looks to me like Waves is trying to sell a pointless plugin. Especially since DAWs already have meters built in…

There are 3 places you can clip with digital mixing.

1. The input (preamp) - Obviously you shouldn’t be clipping there unless you really want to.
  2. Some plugins - Some plugins will clip if you go above a certain level (not always 0dB) and some won’t. It’s a design choice by the plugin designer. If you want your plugin to clip, you have to specifically design the code to make it clip, otherwise there is virtually infinite headroom.