How many hours a week do you spend mixing?

I’ve read that it takes 10,000 hrs to become an expert at something. I have been mixing for three years at an average of 4-6hrs a week. At this rate I will be almost 80 by the time I master mixing.

What do you guys think of the 10,000 hour theory?

I would like to spend more time mixing but my wife tends to get a bit jealous. She doesn’t really have a hobby herself. Any advice for me with that?

How do you guys find time to make music? I always seem too busy with work and family responsibilities. Mixing seems like a very time consuming hobby and it’s so addictive.

Do I need to put some more time into it? Is that the reason(excuse) why I’m not good at it?

1 Like

Singing, playing guitar, playing bass, writing, trying to learn to mix

and of course thats on top of a full time job etc

I guess if it was easy, everyone would do it

1 Like

Find her a hobby. If not, divorce is also an option! :wink:

But seriously, it’s hard to balance all things, I often do a lot of hours as a self-employed software consultant, and then half of my time in the evenings and week-ends I have my daughter with me and cannot just ignore (although I’m tempted sometimes! :)), so I do as much as I can but have to realize that it’s never enough…

There’s some hard truth in the 10,000 hours theory for sure.
I had put that amount in my guitar playing, but then I’ve stopped playing for 15 years and now I’m no longer that good anymore. I try to compensate that with some more taste and “musical wisdom” (whatever that is).

3 Likes

I dunno about 10K hours, but it does take a significant time investment to do this recording & mixing thing, to be sure.