How do I get exposure making obscure music?

I make and compose music that isn’t very popular. How do I get more exposure while still making the music I love?

1 Like

I’m no expert at all on this subject but have you defined your goals? What exactly do you want? Does it have to be millions of dollars and super star status? You say you want exposure, but what does that mean? Are you just considering a music career; that could be teaching music to little kids somewhere, or it could be writing movie soundtracks, or do you want to be in a band, or is it something else?

Most likely collaboration will be part of the success formula, are you networking and reaching out to others who might want to work with you or help you achieve whatever your goals are?

You are asking this question on a site that focuses mostly on audio engineering and songwriting, have you looked for other sources of information on this topic?

If you just want your music heard and make some small change in the process, it is hard but possible. Making a living off it, requires a lot of luck and a bit of capital. Gaining organic exposure without spending capital is hard and takes time but definitely possible. Buckle up for the long haul and hope for some good luck. Getting exposure on streaming sites organically is pretty brutal. The simplest thing you can do is make engaging content.

I am no expert in it but I did gain a decent following when I tried back then, without spending a dime on advertising. Got a few millions views and around 60k followers across platforms. Sold a few thousand albums (hard and soft copies) but times changed and my energy is now spoken for…

anyway, best thing you can do is stay relevant and keep making content. I will list some bare minimum basics

Make sure you are found.
For example start with a catchy and memorable name, and learn some keyword organization.