Greetings from the Jersey Shore

Hi Folks…
I’m a drummer who plays bass, a violinmaker who builds guitars and have an accounting degree from music/audio school… :slight_smile:
But mostly, I am a musician and music lover who tends to pay attention (and hungers for) every infinitesimal detail in any of my pursuits.
I started recording with a battery operated cassette deck and moved onto 8 track… No… not 8 track 1"… an 8 track tape recorder in a radio shack home stereo. Eventually went to a 1/4’ reel to reel that I modded to disable the record/erase head on either channel. That was a challenge as the overdubs were never in sync… Moved to a 4 track cassette system and had a mobile recording service where I recorded demos and gigs for local bands. I even had one of the akai VHS multitrack recorders that never worked. Along the way I finally got to 24 track 2" in school and internships and worked in a 16 track studio with 2 linked 1" 8 tracks. Then life took over and I changed careers to musical instrument repair. Eventually that led to executive positions and building a semi-proper studio in my home. So about 15 years ago, I finally went digital and bought a Tascam 24 track. No more razor blades and “tails-outing”… but I still needed tactile faders and knobs. I had messed with protools, Cubase, cooledit, and a few other daws over the years. But thought it was not for me. Then 5-6 years ago, my wife got me a pretty nice laptop. I was messing with amp sims and such on my iphone (3g) and just wanted something to quickly check a customers axe on the fly when I realized that there were more possibilities with the laptop. I got PT le with one interface and studio one with another. But I ended up BUYING reaper for my main daw.