Getting a broadcast ready voice

Getting a broadcast ready voice

I’m seriously thinking about making a podcast for absolute beginners and bedroom engineers. I’m still a good 6-9 months from being ready with the first few episodes, but I’m looking for some solid advice here.

On my YouTube channels, I record my voice clean and EQ the low end out, and have it “mobile” friendly. I know that most people watch my videos on their phones and tablets.

For the podcast I would love that FM style voice. My voice is deep-ish - not James Earl Jones great but it’s not offensive.

So I’m looking for good advice on how to get that broadcast ready voice. How do I remove that background noise that seems to be on my voice recordings? What kind of compression / EQ / limiting do I need? It’s a world apart from mixing vocals into a song. There’s no drums or bass or guitar to EQ around. Just my voice and nothing else!

These articles may be helpful:

https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques/producing-professional-voiceovers-home-part-1

https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques/producing-professional-voiceovers-home-part-2

Thanks very much for the links - really appreciate it.

Nice.

Run the Izotope de-noiser on it.

Any stock EQ, pay attention to 80, 250, 400-500 and 2-3k. Try not to have to cut more than 3db. For compression, 3 or 4 to 1, 5 attack, and 50 release is a common go-to set-it-and-forget-it. For gates, I’ve been using this stock waves preset for years:

For limiting, my go-to is the Izotope - IRC4 - running in fast-transient mode.

I pretty much stick to Waves and Izotope for metering also.

The trick to doing broadcast VO, dialogue editing, ADR, etc… is to have the discipline NOT to try and eq and compress. No room processing, no transient design, no vocal rider, no verbs, no saturation. You want the dryest most organic thing you can possibly achieve. Think of your job to mute channels and move faders. That’s all.

What kind of mic are you using for the voice work?