DAW Suddenly Has Random Static \ White Noise \ Strange Behavior & Drop-outs

I’ve had an album in which I recorded the songs all around the same time.
They have had no technical issues at all while I’ve done my post processing,
and suddenly tonight while tweaking around in a particular project, I’m getting
a faint static noise randomly on playback, which does translate into the file export.
I’ve been recording since 2012 on most of audio gear with no issues.

I’ve gone through all my settings, buffer size, sample rate, disabled all the plugins, etc.
The static isn’t coming from a track, but I am getting drop outs at random points on the vocal tracks.
It doesn’t follow any pattern. On another project, there is some very strange repeatable behavior, track audio is playing over itself almost like there is a delay effect on everything. I’m starting to wonder if my WD Velociraptor drive is failing. Anything I’m not thinking of to check?

I’m using Windows 10 Pro, Intel i9 7900X, WD Velociraptor 10,000 RPM(Recording), Samsung 960 Pro NVME(OS), Sonar X1, RME HDSPe RayDAT Interface, Focusrite Octopre MK2 Dynamic, Presonus Central Station.

Update: Well I wish I could say the problem followed me to my backup files, but when running those projects I am not getting any noise or drop outs. I also copied the suspect files to the backup drive, and they are still tainted. I guess the drive is failing or somehow all these projects got corrupted. Going to have to start over with the backup files :frowning:

If the Octopre is piggybacked to the RME via ADAT (lightpipe cable) you need to use the “external clock” (i.e. the Octopre) as the master clock, rather than “internal”. I’m just guessing from what you described that this is your setup. Having the clock configuration wrong can cause those kinds of problems. Look in the ASIO Device settings in Sonar (which I don’t use but that’s the obvious place to look).

Clock is fine, I’ve been recording for years this way.