Damo

Hello Everyone

My name is Damo.

I followed over from RR. This site looks pretty cool with some nice features. I usually just read posts but I think I need to get a bit more involved if I want to improve.

I really like how everyone gets along on here. Very rare on the forums I have been on. Especially for a topic like music.

Ok so my background…

I grew up in Australia but live o/s now. I’m 40 years old and have been playing music since I was 16.

I had a few different bands with some friends and we played a couple of parties that’s it. The bands I was in were punk and pop rock. I used to do a bit of recording on an 8 track and one of my bands went to a studio for a weekend to record a few songs.

Then I lost my passion for music at about 26 until a few years ago I started playing with GarageBand on my ipad and that was the it for me.

My gear…
Haha
MacBook 2011 i7 8gb
LogicPro X
Blue Yeti USB microphone
24yr old Maton Acoustic
That’s it. You wouldn’t believe how tight my budget is.

My skills…
My singing is not terrible but average at best.
I can’t play lead on guitar but I think I’m not bad at rhythm.
Mixing I am terrible. That’s why I’m here.

Taste…
Originally Crowded House made me want to write songs. Then I got into punk music. These days I like acoustic guitar based stuff and pop music.

That’s about it.

Btw,
Thanks for all the tips I’ve gotten so far.

6 Likes

Welcome Damo! Always good to have some more Aussies (even Ex-pats :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:) Where are you now, and which part of Oz do you hail from originally?

Grew up in Newcastle but lived in Sydney since 2001. Been in Samoa for a few years now.

How about you?

1 Like

Cool - I’m in Brisbane (where the weather is currently very sticky and Samoa-ish), but I lived in Sydney in the late 80’s early 90’s.

1 Like

Hey Damo! You know, when I saw “Damo” even before opening the thread I thought it sounded like an Aussie name!