Cubase 9 Elements Now Available

I received a message from Steinberg stating that Cubase 9 Elements is now available. I’ve had Cubase LE5 forever. Maybe now is the time to upgrade since I’ve partitioned my Mac and now have a Sierra installation. Any comments from you fine folks?

https://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_product/product/cubase-elements/sku/46371.html

Hey, I really like how the URL throws up a preview.

1 Like

I’m still a Pro Tools guy, but I plan to give Cubase another try this year. It’d be good for me to have a handle on both

Well, for what it’s worth: I’m using Cubase Pro 8.5 and I’m not quite sure I will update any time soon.

I was happy up until 7.5, and then moved to 8 and experienced a few annoying bugs and moved to 8.5 to see if that was going to be fixed but didn’t. Some minor things, but also some stability issues, the last project I did was quite big but I had quite a few crashes with it, not good!
It looks like 9 is adding some more features that I’m not sure I want (apart from the history in the mixing console that would be really nice to have, and then there’s this plugin sentinel that could help stability), but it doesn’t look like they’ve worked out the bugs from what I see on their forum…

Some of the features from 7/7.5 I could not live without now though, like the chord track, the arranger track, the control room, vari-audio, track versions, and a few other things. But since 7.5 there had been nothing ground-breaking…

Still from v5 and update to v9 would be a huge improvement in terms of workflow.
The good news is that you can still work in v5 and even revert to v5 for projects created with v9 if there’s any issue. Downward compatibility has always been a big thing in Cubase.

So perhaps wait for a few minor versions before updating, to let them iron out a few bugs?
That’s probably what I’ll do.

Good idea, @ptalbot. Thanks for the details about your “adventures” in upgrading.