An old guys take on modern music

Hi Guys and Gals,
This is a very challenging song to mix especially the the high hats and snare. I am a full time broadcast engineer of of over 30 years and a hobby mixer. I hope you like my mix I worked very hard to give a good presentation. I use to mix live sound years ago but have been in the box a little over a year and a half.
I love mixing contest I hold no expectation to win it is great practice. I am working with a friend of mine to wright and mix some songs we hope to publish.

Thanks Boz for all you do to help us small guys.

0 voters

Hey Thomas,
Nice job overall.
I am a hobby mixer also so you can take my “bashing” anyway you like. :slight_smile:
I like your sounds on the bass and the guitars. The bass has crystal high mids.
There’s something I don’t like on the snare but I don’t know what exactly… :slight_smile:
I just think it needed more power and the tone doesn’t sit very well with the rest of the song.
I understand though that mixing those drums was very challenging. For me too!
Finally you could do a little riding on the vocal level because sometimes it is at the right volume and other times it gets buried.
Also I would bring the background vox by 2-3 db because when they are heard along with the lead they completely cover it!

Good luck!

Thanks for the feed back. I have 15 different bounces of this song.

My final submission was chosen after listening on 7 different devices including a small Bluetooth speaker and a phone.

The vocal level was set to help the smaller speakers and mono.

Again i love this that others give great feedback.
Thanks again.

1 Like

Very good mix! The vocals could be a little closer and clearer rather than the bass.

Overall, a good mix.
Notes:

I think there’s too much compression on the track, the chorus is apparently louder than the verse, though if you were going for modern, then you should consider this a success! :slight_smile: