Air - Emotional Film Score

This is one of my originals. Intended for the Wuxia genre.
Composition is called “Air”

Please let me know your thoughts. Arrangement, flow, mix … anything. Thanks in advance!

Finalized after feedback: (subtle dynamics, stereo spread)

3 Likes

I think it sounds good. I think it could use more dynamics. There’s plenty of spots where you could have let those strings swell both in volume and in range quite a bit without losing the feel of the song.

1 Like

This is a beautiful sound that flows smoothly and holds my attention. I had to look up ‘Wuxia’ so I learned something! Sound tracks are kind of baffling to me. They can’t upstage the visual content but they often must be ‘epic’ and overpowering which is difficult to reconcile. As a musician I usually focus on music and visual content separately which defeats the purpose of a soundtrack so I miss the point entirely. So when I hear this piece I think of things to add to it but they are unnecessary because it is already complete. Thanks for posting!

1 Like

Sounds pretty and melancholy. I like it !
Good job!

1 Like

Sounds great! Good strong melody and instrumentation…

My only slight criticism is that all the ear-catching high-mid focused elements seem to be over on the left side of the stereo spectrum, so it feels like the whole production is slightly “leaning” that way

1 Like

Revision:

I changed a few things and added some automation in certain parts to create some ebb and flow without overpowering the sound stage. Most parts in the arrangement were played live so left those dynamics alone where I could. Just enough dynamics to leave room for dialog. I posted the revision in the original post as well. Thanks for the tip!

Thank you for the vote of confidence!

It hovers in the neutral zone of happy and sad. Thanks for noticing!