A man and his traps

http://hometheaterreview.com/gik-acoustics-tri-trap-monster-bass-trap-and-242-acoustic-panels-reviewed/

My adventure begins monday

2 Likes

take measurements before and after.

1 Like

It measures 7" before, and 7" 1/3 after I took the pills from the Nigerian prince email. Seriously though Johnny Depp, let me know how those workout. Seems like an interesting contraption.

I certainly can vouch for the effectiveness of these GIK traps… best $1600 investment I have made in making music, to be sure. Good luck J!

Alrighty. Won the auction.

Whats the best way to do this?

room eq wizard and a measurement mic. a cheap measurement mic will work just fine for the situation.

1 Like

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/LSR4300kit

I have one of these. I’ve never used it before. Would that work?

How do you plug it in? Should I just go 8th inch to quarter inch TRS adapter, then into the front of a solid state preamp?

1 Like

I consider my acoustic treatment absolutely necessary in my space and one of the two things that makes my space work.

I may have gone a little overboard with the amount of absorption - sometimes it’s a little too dead - but I built everything (aside from the stuff mounted to the ceiling) as free standing. I can shrink or grow the “room” that the mic hears depending on where I place the panels.

Acoustic guitar? My eight 6’ tall, 2’ wide, 3" thick panels (that are hinged together as pairs and stand as wide Vs) are back against the walls.

Vocals? Those same panels (plus an extra 4’x3.5’x6" panel) completely surround the singer so it’s dry, dry, dry.

Drums? Depends on the sound. I can move that stuff around to blend room reflections coming back into the mics.

I don’t know much, but I know I didn’t make too many mistakes with my acoustic treatment ideas.

Also, I’m not a carpenter by ANY stretch of the imagination. My panels don’t look great but they do a hell of a job in my used-to-be-nearly-unuseable room.