A Late Introduction

I’ve been a member since February of 2017 - more than two years, now - and I never introduced myself (never posted much either - three posts in 2 years).

I’ve been playing guitar for about 35 years (since I was 12 or 13), and was in a couple bands in my teens and twenties, but gave it up to make software (money) and write books (no money). A little more than a dozen years ago, I started coming back to music, recording my own crap on a Firepod, and I’m still recording my own crap, only now I’m releasing it into the wild.

I stream writing songs on twitch (twitch.tv/fourafterever), and I’ve just started to try to figure out how to make non-bad videos for them. My music sits solidly somewhere between grunge and doom (so I’ve been told). I have, I think, two fans (well, at least two people who seem eager to hear new stuff). :slight_smile:

Better late than never, I guess, when it comes to introductions and music…

3 Likes

Welcome (back)! I see on that site you use a Cascade Fathead, just curious about that and how you use it as I have read/heard some good things about them. Also, there was a link on there to your website where there seems to be a blog post (There Will Be New Books) about “writer’s block” or something to that effect (mental bullshit). It also seemed to touch on Imposter Syndrome (we have a thread here about that), though in January you seemed to transcend whatever was holding you back. Anyway, just curious about that as well since that’s something that has plagued me with music at times. One of the things you said was “You have to be able to lose yourself in what you’re doing” which I think is spot on. When other crap is inside your head, ToDo lists, cobwebs :spider_web:, whatever … it’s hard to focus on that nebulous blob tugging from the dark matter of your imagination. You spoke about it like exorcising a demon. I was just curious if you wanted to speak about that as much as you feel able and willing to.

1 Like