25 Reasons - tough song for me! How'd I do?

@takka360 put me on to this piece recently. It was from the previous Lewitt mix contest. I didn’t even hear it until after the contest, but thought it would be a challenge to mix and a good learning project for me.

Now Alan does mixes like this in an hour or less, probably while he’s brushing his teeth and getting ready for bed. Sickening actually (kidding!) cuz I found this piece to be a pig to mix. I’m new to this live mix stuff and the mic bleed was all over the place. Yowza. Let’s just say it took more than an hour. We’ll leave it at that!

So here’s my crack at it. Be candid. I wanna learn!

(P.S., you’re amazing, Alan!)

2 Likes

What you using for monitoring ?Hardly any bottom end on my speakers .

I will have to work out a way i can Skype you or something so i can sit in on a mix with you to see if we can get you moving forward .

1 Like

The only thing I did different with THIS mix is that I mixed thru my headphones, Senneiser HD600s, but this time with Morphit. The profile, for my cans, boosted the base in my monitoring with Morphit, which would, of course, translate in my actual mix not having enough low end.

I did cross-check it with my monitors, though (KRK VST 4), and referenced it against your track and also the mix that won the competition. I did not spend enough time referencing in the end, though, cuz I had to go to work, and was experiencing ear fatigue. Also, I didn’t listen to it on other systems, cuz @AJ113 said I didn’t have to! :slight_smile: (Just kidding, AJ!). My room is not treated yet so my sound environment is less than ideal). I just ordered the mineral wool for my panels and plan on picking it up this weekend. Soon!

Really? That would be awesome! I’d LOVE that. I’ll PM you. Thanks, Alan. Way cool!

1 Like

Room treatment will make a world of difference.Its the best thing i ever done